Blog Logo

New Year, New Layout

Author’s Note: This year I again find myself breaking my policy against “personal” posts on this blog, but, as it’s nearly been a year since my last one, I suppose I can “cheat” another time.

This blog will have its second anniversary in a few weeks. It might be ironic for a historian to say this, but it truly is surprising how quickly time flies.

Admittedly, this year wasn’t as productive as I was hoping, but I’ve still had a tremendous amount of fun writing and interacting with you over the past twelve months. We explored the early accomplishments of Alexios Komnenos, one of the most renowned Byzantine emperors; medieval mythology; the American Civil War as seen through the eyes of Marylanders who lived at the time. We’ve dived into the story of the chaos after Alexander the Great’s death—and we’ll continue to watch that unfold. This year has also seen poetry spotlights about a Christmas epic and a king’s medieval letter, as well as a short story spotlight about one of the earliest “sci-fi” stories in Western literature.

In a sort of celebration, I’ve completely updated the blog’s appearance. (If you haven’t seen the home page, give it a quick visit.) Gone are the days of the over-stylized, hard-to-read text on a bland not-quite-parchment-color background. This new layout uses text that’s easier to read, and it has a much cleaner, crisper appearance, which I’ve wanted for a while now.

It’s likely there will be a few more small updates as I move forward and make some final layout adjustments. At the top of the list is using my fledgling graphic design skills to create and add a real logo—one that isn’t just text superimposed over a picture of a Renaissance map—that captures the themes of literature, history, and introspection.

What do you think of the new layout? While I have some ideas for the logo, I’m open to hear others. Feel free to leave a comment below, connect on Facebook or Twitter, or reach out through email using the “Contact” link at the top of the page.

Thanks to everyone who’s joined the community over the past two years. I’m looking forward to this next one!

 

Image: Typus Orbis Terrarum, by Abraham Ortelius (c.1570)

4 thoughts on “New Year, New Layout

    1. Thanks, Susan! For what it’s worth, I envy you too–you’ve been so prolific, both on your blog and in your printed publications. Don’t worry, though; the update wasn’t a massive project and only took about a day. While that sounds like a lot, it wasn’t nearly as much as I was expecting, so I’m sure you’ll be able to do one too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

